rocket ship go!

December 16, 2007

crispy crunchy stuffed tofu

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 3:49 pm
Tags:

Mmmmm, I’ve been wanting to make this for so long. I put it on my “Recipes To Make” list, but I didn’t get around to it for a couple of months, so I just had to eye the pictures longingly. But the day finally came a couple of days ago when I had most of the ingredients at hand to whip this stuff up. Me and my best friend Kate assembled them up together, and it was way fun. The procedures and ingredients list are kind of long, so I’ll leave it up to you to go to the site if you’re interested. You should check it out!

There are two filling options for stuffing the tofu, and I chose the spinach-pea one. But instead of using cumin I used curry powder (I’m kind of tired of cumin right now), and I subbed parsley for cilantro, since Kate doesn’t like cilantro. The flavor was totally amazing! There was a lot of fillinf left over, which I ate with a spoon. When pureed, it comes out pretty thick, not watery at all, and I think it would make a good side dish all by itself. After I write this, I’m going to go and use it as a filling for some cornbread. Here’s the recipe I used:

1 1/2 c. frozen chopped spinach
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
1/2 t. salt
1 1/2 t. curry powder
1 t. salt-free seasoning, such as Mrs. Dash
1 1/2 c. frozen peas
1/4 c. parsley, chopped
cayenne, to taste

In a non-stick skillet, steam the spinach with a little water until it’s cooked through. Set aside.
Clean out the skillet and heat it over medium. Add non-stick cooking spray and saute the onions and garlic until just browned. Add the salt, curry, seasoning, and peas, and cook until the peas are defrosted and most of the liquid has evaporated. (This mixture should be given some time to simmer so that the flavors can meld, so if need be, add a little water.)
Transfer all this too a food processor, and process until mostly smooth. Stir in te parsley by hand, and add a little cayenne pepper.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

