rocket ship go!

December 9, 2007

jelly donut cupcakes gone wrong

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 2:47 am
Tags:

Past couple of baking endeavors have not turned out so very well.

Last night, I tried making strawberry cupcakes from an omni recipe that I adapted. Noooope. They were total mush, plus too much of a vinegar taste from trying to make them rise. Ughh, such failures. I don’t yet understand the chemistry and balance of cakes, so every non-veg cake recipe that I try to veganize ends in disaster and wasted ingredients. I mean, these things tasted so terrible that I couldn’t trifle-ize them or nothin’.

Since I had a batch of vanilla frosting that I had already made, I wanted to find something to go with it that I already had the ingredients for, so I settled on the jelly donut cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. Now, I’m not much of a cupcake liner girl myself; enough can be accomplished with the right amount of non-stick spray. However, they’re pretty essential to this recipe, as you can see from the pic above. Also, I don’t know if this has to do with the fact that I melted down Earth Balance instead of using canola oil like the recipe called for, but these cupcakes were again mushy. Me no likey.

What’s a girl to do? I needed something to present to my friend Kellye for her 18th birthday. That’s what both of these screw-ups were intended for. So I dabbed some more strawberry jam in the craters of these mini cupcakes and piped icing on them with a snipped Ziploc bag. And all was well.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

