rocket ship go!

November 22, 2007

thanksgiving

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 10:15 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I had so much energy last night, I couldn’t stop cooking! It started with sweet potato casserole:


Here it is, pre-topping and pre-baked. My mom made a non-vegan sweet potato casserole, and she set aside some plain boiled taters for me to make my own version, which I adapted from this recipe at Get Sconed. What a great recipe! I 1/6’d it to make a portion for my little ceramic pan, and I added a bit more sugar to the potatoes and replaced some of the Earth Balance with rice milk. The finished result, all smooth and creamy with a rich cinnamon-nutmeg topping, made for some serious comfort food.


I also made a vegetable casserole with a chili polenta topping (looks a lot like sweet potatoes, right?) Here it is pre-baked. The recipe was originally a “Three Sisters Casserole”, but I made so many substitutions that it’s hardly the same recipe at all. I found the polenta to be slightly bland, but even so, I realized that I LOVE polenta and want to start cooking with it more often. So cheap, so simple, very quick, and gluten-free, too.

One important note: I’ve made this particular recipe before, and it calls for you to prepare the polenta in a huge double boiler for 40+ minutes. When I made it for the first time, I tried that technique, with little success. This time around, I read up on polenta from a free recipe on the Herbivore website. I used the process described there, and the polenta thickened up like a dream, in far less that 40 minutes. Here’s a basic outline:

4.5 c. water
1.5 c. cornmeal
1 t. salt
your favorite herbs (I think some dried basil and other Italian herbs would be great)

Heat the water in a large saucepan till it’s hot but not yet boiling. Add other ingredients and bring to a boil, whisking constantly. Turn down the heat to simmer and keep on whisking for about 5 minutes. A good way to see if it’s done is to take a glob of it on the tip of a spoon and set it aside. When the glob cools, if it’s nice and thick and basically solid, you’re good to go. This makes a pretty big amount of polenta. If you’re gonna save some for later, you should probably add some liquid before reheating to keep it from drying out.


I also made a chocolate cake with cherry filling and a little cherry sauce (recipe converted from the back of a box of Hershey’s cocoa powder). The cake was very gooey and rich and pretty delish all around, but the cake sunk somewhat in the middle, so I’m not going to copy the recipe here. Let’s just say I enjoyed it several times over the course of the day.


Clockwise from top right: a standard salad, jellified cranberry sauce (mm, high fructose corn syrup), sweet potato casserole, and the polenta-veggie casserole. (Diet Pepsi pictured is NOT mine!!!)

1 Comment »

  1. polenta makes me think of placenta. that would not be tasty

    Comment by Becca — November 23, 2007 @ 11:22 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

