rocket ship go!

November 16, 2007

soul veg!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 11:53 pm
Tags: ,

I am a soul veg.

This anemic picture does not do justice to the righteousness that it Soul Vegetarian’s “kalebone” roast sandwich.

Since today is the anniversary of my birth, and my mother was in Atlanta on a business trip, I made the three hour drive down there to spend the weekend with her. A quick poll on the PPK forums yielded the info that Soul Vegetarian is the place to be in the ATL, and since it’s just a few miles from our hotel, we gladly made the tripto the cozy little place. (I think Atlanta is actually where Soul Veg originated. Am I right?)

The top of their menu reads: All of our dishes are 100% vegan. Never, in the past four years, have I been able to look at a restaurant menu and be overwhelmed by the fact that I can order anything I want. It was a cool feeling, for sure.

I ordered the “kalebone” roast sandwich, a weird name because it’s actually seitan and there’s no kale in it. This was my first experience with seitan, and it was really wonderful. The roast was tender but also pleasantly chewy, and lightly seasoned. The sauce on top was garlicy and smooth and uber-creamy. The bun it was on even tasted amazing! The way it all tasted together reminded me a bit of turkey and stuffing. It came with a side of Hebrew Bakes (potato wedges) and a small salad that had an awesome tangy tahini dressing. This meal was so divine, the best one that I can remember having in a long time. It was even better than Woodlands. It was total soulful comfort food. I left perfectly satisfied but not overfilled at all, and I actually felt euphoric. I guess wonderful food will do that to you. If you’re a food freak like me.

Thanks to everyone on the PPK who recommended Soul Vegetarian!


Can you say “happy plate”?

1 Comment »

  1. Happy birthday! I wish we had a Soul Veg here (but I’m sure I would gain a bunch of weight if we did!).

    Comment by Laura Faye — November 18, 2007 @ 9:24 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

