rocket ship go!

November 12, 2007

what goes in, comes around

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 7:46 pm
Tags: ,

There are some definite intricacies to veganism, like if the sugar you used has been filtered with charred bones. And whether or not your clothes are made of wool (forgot about that one, but I bought my peacoat pregan!). Or if that B12 in your cereal came from an animal or not. Some vegans care about these intricacies, some do not. And that’s okay. I think it depends on whatever mood I’m in, whether or not I want to be virtuous and meticulous today or laid-back and lazy. At the moment, I’m feeling responsible. My dad says I’m one of the most disciplined people he knows, but I don’t really see myself that way. I like to indulge! But I guess I can also be a little bit of a purist, too.

Today I was calling up Kashi, inquiring as to whether certain ingredients in their instant oatmeal (evaporated cane juice, natural flavors, vitamin B12) are vegan. Thankfully, they are, so I can have my instant oatmeal gratification in my room, only made easier by the electric water boiling kettle I got for my birthday. But know what’s neat? The operator that I was speaking to, in her thick, indiscernible accent, told me she’d send me a whole bunch of coupons, just because I decided to call in and bug her. There are rewards for being picky and obsessive!

Actually, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being concerned about what you’re putting in your body. Some people imagine that it’s a total hassle to read ingredient labels, and to actually understand what those ingredients are. If they would rather walk around eating Twinkies and Doritos, that’s really their choice. I do enjoy sweets as much as the next person (or more…), but there are so many additives and artificial ingredients in most commercially prepared food that it’s like chewing on plastic. Something about that just doesn’t sit well with me. For a while now, I’ve held the belief that what you put into your body directly affects your appearance and overall well-being. For instance, it really seems to me like people who consume more soda have worse acne, so they take pills to try to make it go away. Why not try and change your lifestyle?

I can’t preach, though. Although I do strive to buy organic food when I grocery-shop, the majority of what I consume (i.e. cafeteria food) is not organic. I would like to change that, but I can only do so much at a time. As long as I’m trying, I’m moving in the right direction.

3 Comments »

  1. I really would love to be like that- to know and decide exactly what goes into my body. Thing is, there’s not much strictly-vegan stuff to eat around my house and my mothers always stuffing down bacon and roast pork, etc. down our throats, or too much starch or sweets…it’s hard living with others who eat like that. I wish I had some direction and support to become vegetarian…

    Comment by sugarmoth — November 12, 2007 @ 8:00 pm |Reply

  2. sugarmoth, just totally go veggie! You should get a good book on becoming vegetarian, because it definitely takes guidance in the beginning. If you know how to cook, being a vegetarian is easier, too. And there are so many veg food blogs out there with good recipes, as well as people willing to answer your questions. I too lived with some carnivores before moving out, and while you may get teased, being a healthy, compassionate person is such an awesome feeling. Go for it, you won’t regret it.

    Comment by Rachie — November 12, 2007 @ 10:34 pm |Reply

  3. Hey Rachel! I’ve been checking out your blog (which is very cool) and I’ve been meaning to post. Seeing you in the Sweet Tooth today reminded me.
    I have to admit that I have days where I’m a lazy vegan, and days where I’m more committed. It’s hard to be on task all the time with every little thing we put into our bodies, but I guess my philosophy is that we should just try to do our best and not be too hard on ourselves if we aren’t perfect about it 100% of the time.
    By the way, all the food pictures you’ve posted here look so good.

    Comment by Sara C. — November 13, 2007 @ 2:25 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

