rocket ship go!

November 8, 2007

pineapple coconut coffee cake

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 12:02 am
Tags: ,

crispy...

Browned much?

I used a copper-colored pan (that I bought at a thrift store for 79 cents. Screw you, Williams-Sonoma), which I think is why it burned a bit on the bottom. Also, this recipe called for an 8×8 pan, and for a while I forgot to lower the oven temp, which was a necessary step because the heart pan I used was tall and thick. What you can’t see is the crispy, sweet, cinnamon-and-coconut underbelly, that was ironically supposed to be the topping. We do things backwards around here. Overall, I definitely think this recipe was a success. The first time making a recipe can cause some trepidation, and it can be even more worrisome if you’re making a lot of substitutions like I did. This recipe was originally from Fat-Free Vegan Kitchen, but it got completely warped due to my lack of ingredients. Warped in a coconutty, gluten-free way of course. (I used a gluten-free flour for the first time and was realy pleased. The texture is just like cake!)

Pineapple Coconut Coffeecake
1 5/6 (1 1/2 + 1/3) c. flour (I used gluten-free)
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. salt
1/2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut
1/2 c. turbinado sugar*

1 T. ground flaxseeds + 3 T. warm water
1 T. vinegar*
1 8 oz. can crushed pineapple in its juice, undrained
1/3 c. applesauce

topping:
2 T. turbinado sugar*
1/2 t. cinnamon
2 T. unsweetened shredded coconut

Heat oven to 350F. Grease an 8×8 inch square baking dish. Mix flaxseeds and warm water, and let sit for a few.
Sift together first 4 ingredients, then add the other dry ingredients and combine thoroughly.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined. Do not overmix.
Immediately pour into your pan. Mix the topping ingredients in a small bowl and sprinkle over the batter. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test.
Let it rest in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn it out onto a cooling rack.

This cake is uber-healthy. Gluten-free, no added oils, no refined sugar, and vegan! Ooh-la-la.
*I gleaned these ingredients from the cafeteria! I was especially nervous about the vinegar: the recipe called for white or cider, but I had to use red wine because that’s all I could get my hands on. I was afraid the flavor would be funky, but it was great. And the sugar came frm 50 individual serving packets.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

