rocket ship go!

November 4, 2007

first vegan potluck

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 10:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

I've been craving Mexican.

I knew the Vegetarian Student Alliance was going to a vegetarian/vegan potluck, so I bought all the tasty little ingredients for Fat-Free Vegan Kitchen’s Mexican Lasagna. I subbed corn for the black beans, because I was already using refried black beans. I left out the olives, too.

I had my first experience with the communal kitchen downstairs (not bad, nobody got all up in my business and everybody kept saying “It smells great around here!” Only one girl asked what I was making, though. I wanted to wave my arms and run around the lobby, shouting “Vegan vegan vegan vegan!!!”). Got it all cooked, got cute in my mod little grey dress and turquoise tights, and went to meet up with others from the VSA at the designated place.

But they never showed. There was a parked blue Volkswagen bug sitting around, but I didn’t assume that the people in it were going to the potluck (of course they were. What was I even thinking). Fifteen minutes pass; I decide to drive myself. Except that my car keys are in the dorm, so I walk up there with the casserole, then back down to my car. Then I get on the road. Okay, now I’m in business.

When I got there, I saw the two people that were in the blue bug. I knew they recognized me, but I gave them the cold shoulder cuz that’s how I do (and it’s not nice of me at all). I put the casserole, which by now was quasi-warm, near the other food and labelled it vegan. I eventually met the two blue-bug people (Sara and Patrick), and they’re really nice. They complemented my food, too. ūüôā I feel bad for shafting them in the first place, and we’re all going to dinner together on Tuesday. There was this¬†really enthusiastic¬†50-something hardcore vegan man who, when I told him that I had only been vegan for a week,¬†was like, “Well, what eggs are, they’re [*whispers*] the chicken’s menstrual cycle.” I was like, “Yes. I know, sir.”

I meant to take pictures of the casserole once it was¬†cut up¬†and such, but I forgot all about it. Everybody apparently enjoyed it though, because all that was left over was scraps, and those¬†disappeared¬†in, like,¬†the first¬†10 minutes after I got back to my dorm. Weirdly enough, someone accidentally dropped some raisins in the dish when they were serving themselves, and it was delicious. Salty spicy enchilada sauce and earthy raisins… oh yes. Despite my failure to keep the food hot, I liked it a lot, and I think I’ll take it to my dad’s family’s house for Thanksgiving. I gotta find a way to add more enchilada sauce in there, though. I want to take a hot bath in that stuff. I would taste so amazing.

2 Comments »

  1. i like enchiladas a lot, and i like your drawing. especially the expression on her face, she looks like she overdid it.

    xo
    kittee

    Comment by kittee — November 6, 2007 @ 7:19 pm |Reply

  2. […] visit my dad’s side of the family, I made some enchilada casserole, which I¬†already¬†made¬†a few months ago. Also, a few days before Christmas, I made¬†two types of¬†food gifts for members of my family: […]

    Pingback by christmas food « rocket ship go! — December 27, 2007 @ 2:57 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

