rocket ship go!

November 4, 2007

coming out

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 2:24 am
Tags: ,

I kind of dreaded telling my family about going vegan. Nobody likes to cause a ruckus (down south we call it a-feudin’).  I was afraid that they would be frustrated, would be worried, but worst of all, I was afraid that they wouldn’t take it seriously. I’ve handled all that before, but that stuff brings out some serious insecurity in me. For realz.

I tried going vegan a few years ago. I blame its failure mainly on personal ignorance; also on doubt and concern from the people around me, on the lack of support and not knowing a single vegan; but also a lot on chocolate cake and an absence of vegan baking knowledge. I had no idea what to eat or where to get it; I’m pretty sure I was too new to vegetarianism in general to be able to do vegan right.

Then, several months ago, after a lot of reading, I tried becoming a raw foodist, straight from vegetarianism. I don’t know if you would call it a success: the longest time I could go 100% raw was for a couple of days. A lot of times I would break raw by having a total late-night binge on highly processed foods like sweets and ice cream. All those glorious refined carbs felt great at the time I was eating them. They felt horrible the next day.

It’s not to say that I don’t have faith in the raw foods diet; on the contrary, I think it’s really great. When I stayed on it I felt really fresh and clean inside, and raw foods are absolutely wonderful for your body. I think it is possible to be happily committed to it. But I missed cooking, especially baking (by that time I had acquired sufficient knowledge of vegan baking to know that it rocks).

So pretty recently, I changed my mind. I literally had a mental shift. Eating fresh should be a priority, but cooked food can be healthy, too. That’s an idea that I’m actually still working with.

So, as I addressed an email about coming out of the vegan closet to several family members, I was afraid they would see my return to cooked foods as back-tracking and also remember my failed attempt from a couple years back. In short, they wouldn’t take me seriously. But I believe that if something is worthy, jump in with both feet and get really wet and splash everyone around you.

My parents’ reactions surprised me. My dad asked me about it in passing over the phone; I was afraid he was going to interrogate me, but he was so light-hearted about it. It was amazing. My mom sent me a really thoughtful email reply, saying that she knows I’m a healthy person and believes that I’ve put a lot of thought into this decision.

And what a relief that was. What a beautiful thing it is to be accepted (even supported). Maybe I’m jumping the gun and by Thanksgiving they’ll be all up in my grill. But I don’t care. I’m basking in how good right now feels.

mystery ingredients
Ingredients for the vegan potluck tomorrow.

1 Comment »

  1. this is great news that they took it so well!
    congratulations to you.

    Comment by Celine — November 3, 2007 @ 11:16 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

