rocket ship go!

April 20, 2008

me? tagged?

Filed under: Uncategorized — by Rachel @ 4:24 pm
Tags: ,

Sorry for the whole not-posting-in-forever thing. I have made things, it’s true: cupcakes, muffins, even an amaaaazing cheezecake (which was absolutely my favorite food pre-vegan, so the fact that I enjoyed it means it kicks tofutti). But I have been busy lately, mostly trying to read actual printed books as opposed to blogs (and regular books, not cookbooks). Have you read Off the Map? You really should; it will make you think and make you happy. How many books do that at once? If you know of any, you should recommend.

In being all busy and such, I forgot to check my blog, thinking that no one would visit because of no new postage. Apparently I was wrong, because one of the several hits I got was from Liz of kamutflake girl, who tagged me to share 5 random things about myself with my “readers.” (BAHAHAHAHA like those even exist)

But that’s far too vague a question! I couldn’t stand those first few days in middle school and high school, when your teacher would give you all those forms to fill out about yourself, monotonously listing your birthday and address, for every teacher. And one of them would be personal enough to ask you to tell him a few things about yourself, but I always had no idea what to say. I am too complex a person to be able to draw out of my depths the 5 most interesting points of my life, that I would most definitely care to have others know about me, on the spot. My head doesn’t work that way: my essence flows, it isn’t extracted and distilled like vanilla! So with me, you get some boring parts for sure, some repeats, but the beauty is steeped in there too, murky and milky with the rest of the it. You know?

That used to mildly stress me out, but whatev’s. Five things, as they come to me:

  • There a greenway near my school, and it’s rather green and lush, with the exception of all the middle-aged business people and their kids, in gym shorts and t-shirts. But running beside the span of this greenway is a creek, and by the creek is this official looking metal sign that says, “AVOID PHYSICAL CONTACT: BIOLOGICAL HAZARD” and lists stuff that it’s contaminated with, like septic waste. So no swimming in that river. Yes, there is a nuclear power plant (supposedly where the bomb dropped on Hiroshima was made??) a few miles from my school. No, I do not have cancer (yet).
  • Speaking of school, I’m studying abroad next semester in Guayaquil, Ecuador! I’ve always wanted to travel in Latin America, but Ecuador wouldn’t have been my first pick: I would have chosen Nicaragua or Guatemala, which have more prominent revolutionary histories. But the program that I’ll be enrolled in is focused on social justice, and I’ve heard that Ecuador has one of the most revolutionary histories of all the countries in South America. Obviously, I have a lot of learning to do.
  • I don’t shave my legs or my armpits, and I’m proud. It took a few shy (winter) months of hiding my legs from my boyfriend and wearing pants and long skirts, but I rock the shorts these days, because a month or two ago I was just like, “Know what? I love me!” I had said that kind of thing to myself before, but never meant it so strongly. And my boyfriend is so down with it. Oh, and on that “I love me” day, I kind of stood in front of the mirror and pulled up my shirt, and rubbed my belly and smiled at myself. Do you think that’s weird?
  • I miss my mom’s broccoli-cheese-rice casserole so bad, and I wanna veganize it soon.
  • I was gonna live in my own apartment over the summer (woo no curfew! woo biking to everywhere I need to go!), but the girl whose lease I was gonna take gave it away to another girl. Without telling me. After she had agreed with me first to give me the lease. Lame?

I know that I’m supposed to tag 5 other people, but I’m not going to continue the tag chain-of-fools, so I hope you enjoy my random factoids.

5 Comments »

  1. That takes a lot of courage to not shave your legs or armpits! I really admire that. I don’t shave my legs in the winter, because frankly I don’t care when people can’t see me, but otherwise I don’t think I could let people see my hairy legs!

    Comment by Romina — April 20, 2008 @ 6:03 pm |Reply

  2. It does take a long time to get used to. Like, I did it a couple of years ago, but always felt super self-conscious when showing my legs, so I just shaved them. But about 7 months ago I met some other girls who didn’t, so I decided to do it again. Knowing people who think it’s normal for women to not shave (rather than thinking it’s weird or hippy-ish or a novelty) really helps.

    Comment by Rachel — April 20, 2008 @ 6:38 pm |Reply

  3. that’s lame indeed, of that girl to do that to you. hopefully you’ll find something even better?
    kudos for not shaving your legs and armpits! I rarely do it myself. but I still do… because I’m a wimp?
    and more kudos for going to Ecuador! can’t wait to hear more about it.

    Comment by Celine — April 21, 2008 @ 12:50 pm |Reply

  4. I love everything about you Rachel, beautiful legs and all!!!
    and there is nothing boring about you.

    Love,
    -Jesse

    Comment by Jesse — April 24, 2008 @ 1:43 am |Reply

  5. Thanks Celine. :]

    And Jesse–so sweet!!!

    Comment by Rachel — April 24, 2008 @ 8:28 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

